Iconic Barking Granary unveiled as part of Open House weekend
Iconic landmarks were open to the public at the weekend as part of Open House, London’s annual architectural showcase.
Among them was the Victorian Granary, on Abbey Road in Barking - one of the oldest remaining buildings in Barking and Dagenham and a reminder of the borough’s malting heritage.
After being left derelict for a long period of time the Granary, which dates back to around 1870, was purchased by builders and developers Rooff Group in 2010.
The group restored the landmark building as part of the new Creative Industries Quarter in Barking and won a 2012 Civic Trust Award for their efforts.
Now standing alongside its contemporary, bronze-clad extension following the completed first phase of Roding riverside area’s ongoing regeneration, the listed five-storey structure offers up to 25,000sqft of commercial space overlooking the Roding Nature Reserve to creative enterprises.
You may also want to watch:
Open House London, which is in its 20th year and part of Open City, saw 750 buildings of all kinds open to the public over 48 hours
A total of 18 buildings in Barking and Dagenham took part, including Eastbury Manor House, Lee Tunnel and Beckton sludge power generator, and Barking Abbey.
- 1 Street food market coming to Barking as lockdown continues to ease
- 2 Three arrests after cannabis raids in Dagenham and South Woodford
- 3 Pictures: Remembering Prince Philip's visits to east London
- 4 Barking and Dagenham pays tribute to Prince Philip
- 5 Second World War bomb pulled from River Thames in Barking
- 6 Council reveals new debt collection service to cut need for enforcement
- 7 Rainbow lights 'signal hope' as part of Barking and Dagenham festival
- 8 Jailed: Burglar who drove on wrong side of road trying to flee police
- 9 Pedestrian crossing improvements after campaign by Dagenham pupils
- 10 Barking MP receives 'disgusting' Holocaust email over Covid-19 vaccine passports