Two extra wards for Barking and Dagenham in boundary change plans

The proposed ward map for Barking and Dagenham from the Local Government Boundary Commission.

The proposed ward map for Barking and Dagenham from the Local Government Boundary Commission. - Credit: Ordnance Survey/Crown copyright

Most of the existing ward boundaries in Barking and Dagenham would change under proposals put forward by the Local Government Boundary Commission.

A consultation is now underway into the plans, which would see the number of wards expanded from 17 to 19, but the number of councillors overall kept the same.

One of the extra wards would come from the split of the current Thames ward.

This would see the creation of a Riverside ward for new developments along the Thames, such as Barking Riverside.

The commission has put forward plans for six of the 19 wards to be represented by two councillors.

You may also want to watch:

There are currently no wards in the borough with less than three ward councillors.

A spokesperson for the commission said the move would "provide for wards that better reflect communities".

Most Read

It wants residents to give their views on the proposals as part of the consultation, which will run until the end of May.

Professor Colin Mellors, chair of the commission, said: “We want people in Barking and Dagenham to help us.

“We have drawn up proposals for new wards in Barking and Dagenham. We want to make sure these new electoral arrangements reflect communities. We also want them to be easy to understand and convenient for local people.

“Residents and local organisations can help us do that. We would like them to let us know whether they agree with our proposals before we take final decisions."

As well as the move to create the Riverside ward, the current Abbey ward is earmarked to be split into two - with Barking Town North and South wards being formed.

River ward in the south-east of the borough would be renamed Dagenham Dock, while boundary lines would be altered for all of the existing wards, except Longbridge, in the plans.

The six wards that are planned to have only two councillors are Barking Town South, Thames View, Becontree, Heath, Alibon and Eastbrook and Rush Green.

If the changes are approved, they would be implemented in time for next year's council elections.

To view the plans in more detail and to comment, visit

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus