Seven primaries to join School Streets initiative

Grafton Primary School was one of the first five schools to take part.

Grafton Primary School was one of the first five schools to take part. - Credit: LBBD

Seven more schools are set to be added to Barking and Dagenham's School Streets programme in a bid to make the borough's roads safer and healthier.

Cabinet members agreed the roll-out, to be introduced on a 12 month trial basis, at a meeting on Tuesday, November 16.

A pedestrian and cycle-only zone will be created around each of the participating schools at drop-off and pick-up times.

It was rolled out at five schools in November last year, and Sydney Russell Primary School will join by February next year.

Four other primary schools - Richard Alibon, Parsloes, Hunters Hall and Southwood - will join by March, with Valence and St Joseph's set to join by the summer.

Councillor Margaret Mullane, cabinet member for community safety and enforcement, said: “COP26 has given us all another wake-up call - we need to cut emissions seriously to make our planet liveable for future generations.

“Our School Streets are a way of doing this as they not only make our streets safer for children, but with less traffic around they also help reduce pollution.”

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter