Dagenham 88 runners endure the annual Spitfire Scramble race for more than 24 hours

PUBLISHED: 12:00 17 July 2019

Dagenham 88 Runners at the 24-hour Spitfire Scramble (Pic: Dag 88s)

Dagenham 88 Runners at the 24-hour Spitfire Scramble (Pic: Dag 88s)


Dagenham 88 Runners endured the demanding Spitfire Scramble on the weekend.

Peter Salmon, Rosina Salmon, Sara Prior and Paul Prior at the Spitfire Scramble (Pic: Dag 88s)Peter Salmon, Rosina Salmon, Sara Prior and Paul Prior at the Spitfire Scramble (Pic: Dag 88s)

The race is a 24-hour multi-terrain relay or solo race in which you can run on your own or in teams of two to eight runners.

Spitfire Swallows which included members Louise Chappell, Hannah Sheikh, Jennifer Akroyd, Jane Swanson-Sprent, and Caroline Tuck completed 26 laps in 25 hours and nine minutes to finish second in the female teams 3-5 category.

Loomie Ladies Rahana Islam, Nazia Islam, Emma Dudman, Cristina Cooper, and Beverley Eagles finished in third with 24 laps in 24 hours and 10 minutes.

Chafing the Dream Timi Veerasamy, Emma O'Shea, Yolanda Ceveira, and Lorraine Moor (20 laps, 23:45:07).

Geri & The Pacemakers, Geri Latimer, Natalie Summers, Bea Ogun-Tayo and Ronnie Waller (15 laps, 24:08:40).

Forerunners, Paul Prior, Sara Prior, Peter Salmon, and Rosina Salmon finished third in the mixed category (25 laps, 24:08:48).

You may also want to watch:

Fleeting Foursome including Sarah Horne, Allan Horne, Carol Moring, and Leigh Moring (16 laps, 24:10:57).

D88 Crazy Gang, Richele Cockley, Julie Cardnell, Jacqui Elliott, Kirsty Hannan, Denise Woolston, Vennisa Chowdhury, and Kelly Drake-Tapscott (17 laps, 23:26:57).

Nils Hollmann, Michael Pegnall, Tony Woodgate, Lee Duggan, Tom Sargent, and Robert Woodgate 25 laps in 22 hours and 38 minutes.

Phoenix Rising Scramblers, Adam Coals, Simon Childs, Sarah Foreman, John Power, Barry Poultenay, Louisa Parsons, Suzanne Easley, and Steve Easley (24 laps, 24:48:10).

Irene Campen, Sam Veerasamy, Kaye Sandford, Joel Denning, Christine Lardner, and Caron Altunbicak (18 laps, 24:10:15).

Sonya Veerasamy, Abigail O'Shea, Tom Coughlan, James Byers, James Coughlan, and Margaret Byers (17 Laps 23:11:48)

Duos, Gary Cardnell and Danny White (11 laps, 23:20:36), Andrew McLaren and Peter Burdett (9 laps, 24:02:49), Jenny O'Hanlon and Andy Beazeley (17 laps, 22:23:23), Paul Suett and Cassie Bryant (11 laps, 21:41:17) and Jacqueline Frewin and Kevin Brown (8 laps, 13:52:32).

Solo runners Manji Gami (12 laps, 21:32:37) and Jeff Webster (4 laps, 04:25:31).

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Barking and Dagenham Post. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Barking and Dagenham Post