Barking’s Johnson shines as Dagenham 88s host ELVIS opener on 30th anniversary

PUBLISHED: 16:30 04 June 2018

Dagenham 88 Runners face the camera at the first ELVIS race of the season

Dagenham 88 Runners face the camera at the first ELVIS race of the season


Dagenham 88 Runners hosted the first race of the eagerly awaited 2018 East London Five Interclub Series (ELVIS) at Eastbrookend Country Park to celebrate their 30th anniversary.

Barking's Lee Johnson receives his prize from Ian CumminsBarking's Lee Johnson receives his prize from Ian Cummins

Starting in close proximity to the Millenium Centre Eastbrookend, a throng of some 300 club runners from Barking Road Runners, East End Road Runners, East London Runners, Havering Joggers 90, Ilford and Orion Harriers, to name a few set off at a fast pace to complete a two lap multi-terrain course of five miles.

And East London Runners Thomas Grimes (28.12) and Mark Boulton (28.54) claimed a 1-2, as Barking’s Lee Johnson finished in a magnificent third place in 29.20.

Ava Lee, also of East London Runners, was first woman home in 33.55 as her club claimed the men’s and women’s team prizes.

Veteran prizes were won by East London’s Dan Senior (M40, 31.15), Calvin Bobin (M60, 35.41) and Caroline Frith (F35, 35.24), as well as Ilford’s Steve Philcox (M50, 30.42) and Breege Nordin (F55, 38.06) and Eton Manor’s Kate Malcolm (F45, 38.23).

Barking Road Runners Rob Courtier at the ELVIS race at Eastbrookend Country ParkBarking Road Runners Rob Courtier at the ELVIS race at Eastbrookend Country Park

First home for hosts Dagenham was Peter Salmon (34.55), ahead of Jamie Smith (35.57), Callum Cockey (39.22), Mick Brown (39.28) and Tony Woodgate (39.45).

Breaking the 50-minute mark were Nils Holmann (41.17), Rahana Islam (42.30), Nikhelesh Chowdhury (43.20), Rosina Salmon (46.47), Timi Veerasamy (48.17), Andrew Beazeley (48.28) and Louise Chappell (49.26).

Jackie Frewin (51.14), Lee Davies (66.59) and tailrunner Sharon Robinson (77.39) completed the Dagenham line-up.

Barking Road Runners saw Paul Ward (33.49), Kevin Wotton (36.57), Trevor Cooper (37.25) and Ron Vialls (38.10) beat 40 minutes, with Andrew Gwilliam (40.10) just outside mark.

Barry Culling (41.26), Martin Page (42.15), Cristina Cooper (43.45), Natalie Traylen (44.57), Gary Harford (46.25), club captain Robert Courtier (47.24) and Dennis Spencer Perkins (49.50) broke 50 minutes, with Kresh Veerasamy (52.40), Nikki Cranmer (54.28), James Byers (60.23) and the returning Chris Anastasi (66.10) also in action.

The next race is the Havering 5 at Raphael Park on June 12.

*Natalie Traylen took on the Runthrough Velopark 5k race, set on the Moto GP-styled race circuit normally preserved for cycling.

And Traylen blitzed through the course in a cracking time of 26.41 to finish in 16th place.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Barking and Dagenham Post. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Barking and Dagenham Post